Skip to content
January 14, 2009 / schulerbooks

And on into the New Year!

We’ve been slacking a little in the blog department, but now that the holidays are over, we’ve got no excuse not to be sharing our inordinately immense book-loving knowledge! 😉

I have made a New Year’s Resolution that will hopefully translate into a blog component – my husband and I both agreed to try to read a novel a week for the entire year, and keep a journal both about the books and the process of endurance reading.

I am an avid reader, so a novel a week is not far off from what I was already doing – what I do expect is that it will force me to focus in my efforts. I typically have 4 or 5 books going at any given moment, reading them as they suit my mood. Different days call for different texts — I need a non-fiction option, a horror option, a literary option, a brain-fluff option. But this resolution requires commitment! I am hoping it will be an antidote to the Literary ADD that had left me unable to finish a single title for all of December, leaving a greater and greater succession of books unfinished.

Thus far the experiment has proved an initial success – I began last Wednesday with Brideshead Revisted by Evelyn Waugh, and finished it last night. As a literary anglophile (truly an all-around anglophile), the grim English setting was a perfect palate cleanser, and popped me right out of my reading rut. Waugh has an incredible style, replete with lush metaphorical phrasings and acute social observations.

As an added bonus, the film adaption just came out on DVD – but Remember! Always read the book first (and the book’s ALWAYS better)!

Avast ye New Year! I am on my way! — Whitney

Leave a Reply

