Skip to content
March 30, 2009 / schulerbooks

Zombies R Us: Taking On the Classics

Zombies are the new Vampires. The Twilight franchise is the peak of the vampy summit, and as we slide down the other side, we’re going to be mauled by decaying corpses eating their way to the top. As a fan, I could write an entirely zombie weekly column, but I’m limiting myself to recommending my two favorites of the moment.

‘Breathers’ by S. G. Browne is the first of a subgenre I never thought I’d see – Rom-Zom-Com: Romantic Zombie Comedy. Picture Adam Sandler as the misunderstood Andy, recently returned from the dead and living in his parents’ wine cellar, and Drew Barrymore as Rita, the sexy suicide he meets at Undead Anonymous; then picture it actually being funny, fast-paced and slightly gruesome.

From the modern to the classic, with an idea I deeply regret not having first: Jane Austen meets brain-eating zombie mayhem. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith is a re-working rather than a re-write: a comedic coupling of the original iconic text with an underlying zombie war. Now my favorite novel is my favorite novel with zombies. Perfect.

–Whitney

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. A. Morisson / Mar 30 2009 5:11 pm

    Can’t wait to read P&P&Z! Sounds fantastic.

    Check out my Zombie Research Society blog at:

    http://www.ZombieResearch.net

    Hope you like it, and keep up the good work!

    AM

    • schulerbooks / Apr 1 2009 7:18 pm

      I think I just found my new favorite blog… 😉

Leave a Reply

