Skip to content
July 8, 2009 / schulerbooks

National Book Foundation celebrates 60th anniversary; Awards vote open to public

To celebrate the 60th year of the National Book Awards, the National Book Foundation will present a book-a-day blog on the Fiction winners from 1950 to 2008.

The blog will run from July 7th to September 21st, starting with Nelson Algren’s The Man With the Golden Arm, ending with Peter Matthiessen’s Shadow Country, and including works by Ralph Ellison, Saul Bellow, Philip Roth, Flannery O’Connor, Eudora Welty, and Alice McDermott. Discover lesser known but equally talented National Book Award Fiction Winners such as Conrad Richter, Wright Morris, and Robb Forman Dew. Then, on September 21st, you will have a chance to select The Best of the National Book Awards Fiction and win two tickets to the 2009 National Book Awards by visiting the Foundation’s web site at, the first time in its history the Awards will open to a public vote.

Our daily blog includes information on each day’s winning book and author and original posts by contemporary authors, bloggers, and editors, as well as that year’s judges and the winners of other literary awards. Visit the blog at today and every day for the next 77 days, and get your copies of these American classics from your local bookstore, online bookseller, or library and feel free to post comments.

Reposted from National Book Foundation email.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: