Skip to content
August 25, 2009 / schulerbooks

Cassandra Clare announces new Mortal Instruments book!


According to Publishers Weekly, Cassandra Clare used her event at NYC’s Bryant Park last Saturday to announce the continuation of her uber-popular The Mortal Instruments series, previously declared to be complete as a trilogy!

“Clare’s announcement of an additional Mortal Instruments book was unexpected, considering she had previously stated that the series would remain a trilogy. Clare revealed that the idea for a fourth book came about while brainstorming a potential project for a graphic novel publisher. She eventually found the format unsuited to her new ideas, but Clare felt that she’d unwittingly delved into a new story that deserved to be told.

Thus City of Fallen Angels came to be—with the twist of more peripheral character Simon coming to the forefront as narrator. People who love Simon are fewer than those who love Magnus, the star of the Mortal Instruments trilogy, she declared, “but they’re more intense.” When asked what character she was most like, Clare admitted that Simon most resembled herself.

City of Fallen Angels will be published  in March 2011. But that’s not the only project on her agenda: she’s also creating a prequel series to The Mortal Instruments, which will examine the ancestry of the characters and shed more light on Magnus’s vampire background.

Clare’s other big disclosure for fans was that her books will be adapted for the big screen. The film endeavor is in the most preliminary of stages, she said: rights have been sold to the same producers who adapted The Lord of the Rings. Though Clare will not serve as screenwriter, and the contract does not require that she supervise the interpretation of her books into film, she said she trusts that the material is in good hands.”

Click through to check out the website for Clare’s steampunk (yay!) prequel series, The Infernal Devices. Titles for the trilogy have been announced as The Clockwork Angel (Sept. 7, 2010), The Clockwork Prince (fall 2011) and The Clockwork Princess (summer 2012).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: