Skip to content
September 29, 2009 / schulerbooks

Get Quirky with Jane Austen

quirk

One of my little bookselling joys this past year was the extreme success of Quirk’s monster-classic mash-up Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, which spent multiple weeks on the New York Times’ bestseller list. As a zombie and Jane Austen aficionado, it seemed like it was made just for me, so I threw my full weight behind it, hand-selling it to anyone who would stop to listen. At the same time, when I read the book, while finding it fully enjoyable, my final though was “I could have done that better.”

Well now they’ve released Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters, and this book was done better. While sea monsters probably don’t have the immediate kitschy appeal of zombies, and “P&P” is definitely the more beloved of the two Austen books, I really hope people will give this a shot. It’s written much better, the new material is more smoothly integrated, and it’s got pirates. Big scary ones.

Jane had a sense of humor, and I think she’d approve.

–Whitney

Leave a Reply

