Skip to content
October 9, 2009 / schulerbooks

Audrey’s Door nods to haunted house classics

audreysdoor

In honor of my favorite month and holiday (Halloween – duh!), I’ve got a number of eerie, nerve-wracking tales to review, and for once, I won’t worry that people will be annoyed that I recommend so much horror. We’ll start with this fresh twist on the classic haunted house genre, Audrey’s Door, written by Sarah Langan, a direct descendant of all that we loved about Stephen King’s glory days.

In her preface, Langan acknowledges her debt to classics like The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson, The Shining by master King, and Ira Levin’s Rosemary’s Baby. Huge shoes to fill, and Langan steps up with bravado, weaving a creepy sense of foreboding from the first pages. No simple ghost story, the haunted history of a New York City apartment building (built in Langan’s brilliantly devised philosophy of Chaotic Naturalism) is made palpable by superbly crafted characters that breathe air as real as that in your lungs.

Check out the video trailer for the book (my new favorite thing – book trailers!)

New Releases this week:

The Maze Runner by James Dashner  — For fans of The Hunger Games or The Inferior!

The Zombie Survival Guide: Recorded Attacks by Max Brooks — a grapic novel adaptation of Zombie encounters from the author of World War Z (who also happens to be the son of my hero Mel Brooks!), just in time for World Zombie Day this Sunday, October 11!

The Education of a British-Protected Child by Chinua Achebe — a collection of old and new essays by the revered author of Things Fall Apart. His first book in over 20 years!

–Whitney

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: