Skip to content
January 11, 2010 / schulerbooks

2010 Wanna Reads – A Resolution: Goalwar 1

– The Year of One Hundred Books –

So, I’m thinking about things I want to do this year. There are a few glaringly obvious things I would like to accomplish that I won’t say out loud (or in this case “online”) for fear of jinxing my luck. So, instead of resolutions, or “I wanna do these amazing things” let’s put something realistic up, or at least semi-realistic. This is a list of books I want to read (or try to) in 2010, via goodreads.

http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/2798856-krys?shelf=2010-wanna-reads

It’s over 200, but I figure if I have a starting point I might actually get some of it done. My goal… 100 books in the next year. At least half the list. Here’s hoping.

…Of course this is presuming that no major drama occurs in the next year…that I don’t come down with a life threatening illness, or that my apartment building doesn’t burn down…..or that I suddenly come down with a disinterest in books…or that this resolution starts to feel like homework…you never know. Again, I could be jinxing myself… but I’m not that superstitious.

…This is also presuming that I stay on the Adult/YA/Urban-Fantasy kick that I have been on for the better part of a year, because that’s what most of this list is…or that I don’t start a series/book that I loathe…if I don’t like it it will get abandoned…along with the resulting sequels I had planned to read. Period.

….This is also presuming that I don’t get any recommendations/”You have to read this book!”/surprise ARC’s from friends, co-workers, etc. that I have left unaccounted for. I tried to put every “Must read this 2010 Release” into the list, but I’m sure there’s a few I missed… I figure there will be the occasional “Off List” title that I can’t resist, but the goal is the same. 100 books. I figured if I stay about 100 pages a day (which is my average anyways) I’ll be golden.

To that end, I’m breaking this down into goals of books that I want to read in the next two months and going from there. Yes I’m approaching this a bit scientifically (read as anal) but hey I gotta work through this giant pile of books somehow!

First Goalwar – To be read between January 1st and February 28th (whoops, it’s not leap year!)

1. Once Dead Twice Shy – Kim Harrison
2. Dead Witch Walking – Kim Harrison
3. The Good, the Bad, and the Undead – Kim Harrison
4. Every which way but Dead – Kim Harrison
5. A Fistful of Charms – Kim Harrison
6. For a Few Demons More – Kim Harrison
7. The Outlaw Demon Wails – Kim Harrison
8. White Witch, Black Curse – Kim Harrison
9. Black Magic Sanction – Kim Harrison
10. My Soul to Take – Rachel Vincent
11. My Soul to Save – Rachel Vincent
12. Newsgirl – Liza Ketchum
13. Lament – Maggie Stiefvater
14. Ballad – – Maggie Stiefvater
15. The Dead-Tossed Waves – Carrie Ryan
16. The Wolf Tree – John Claude Bemis
17. Raised by Wolves – Jennifer Lynn Barnes

…there were 17 books on the list at the start of the year, but I have already read #1, 2, 3, 12, and 15. I started Raised by Wolves today.  Also, the exorbitant amount of Kim Harrison is because she IS coming to Schuler Eastwood in the end of February… as is Carrie Ryan in mid-March. Squee… I will update to let everyone (who’s interested) know how my progress is going. Wish me luck. I’ll need it.

And with that… I’m off!!!

-Krys Tourtois, Schuler Books & Music Eastwood

Leave a Reply

