Skip to content
January 23, 2010 / schulerbooks

Bookworm’s Musings: The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest

Hello all – Been a while!  The holidays were a nightmare of scheduling, so I got nothing computer-related done at all.  Fortunately I have some lovely friends who visited South Africa, and they were kind enough to bring back the third in the millenium series by swedish author Stieg Larsson, The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest. Don’t look for this here in the States just yet.  I have been informed that books have different publishers for different countries, and therefore different release dates.  A clue to how popular this series is; this book was released at the same time as Dan Brown’s  The Lost Symbol in England and South Africa, and it ran neck and neck with it for sales.

First off, I love this series. I can see them making a movie of this, but I am baffled as to who they might cast for Lisbeth Salander. Maybe Ellen Page? The same cast of characters is evident, Mikael Blomquist, Erica Berger, Holger Palgrem, Bublanski, Zala, Niedermann. The story picks up right where The Girl Who Played With Fire left off. Someone read this before me, and my only question to her before I started was, “Is there a resolution to Lisbeth?”  Larsson’s writing made me become so attached to this character. Even though I believe she is 27 or 28 in these novels, she is so childlike in some ways. The last thing this character would want from anyone is babying, or mothering of any sort, but I can’t help but want to give her a big hug.

Secondly, I told someone else (the next in a long list of people who want to read this book) that apparently it takes getting shot in the head to make this girl become human. It’s brought up that her diagnosis of paranoid delusion might have been mistaken for Asperger’s syndrome. Hadn’t thought of that until the words were actually said, but quite possible. It gives a resolution to Lisbeth, Kalle Blomquist, Erica’s defection to SMP, Zala’s, and Sapo’s secretive society. Not that I like all my books tied up neatly with a big red bow, but I was happy to see this one had some closure.

But, and this brings me to my third point, almost nothing is said about Lisbeth’s twin sister. I know that when Larsson turned these manuscripts in he had the three completed, but I also heard that he had outlines for seven more. What a shame we won’t get to read anymore from him. I wonder if he had any plans on continuing the other characters in other novels. They are so well drawn, that I am curious about Lisbeth’s sister, and Mikael’s sister, what about Harriet Vanger from The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo?

Also read the latest Michael Connolly, Nine Dragons. It was a Harry Bosch novel, so it was good, but not his best.  The next one from him should be a doozy if he continues where he leaves off. Also read the latest from Joe Hill (Stephen King’s son), Horns, not available until March.  This an intersting read.  Much more gory and graphic than Heart Shaped Box. He does make reference to “Judas Coyne” in this book, following in Dad’s tradition. I enjoyed this book, but I won’t let my son read it. He can handle pretty much anything, but this is just too adult for him.

I think I am off to read the latest by Lisa Unger, and the latest by Steve Berry.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. J. Edward Tremlett / Jan 23 2010 10:45 pm

    Thanks for the news on the third book. Point in fact, the books ARE being made into movies, it’s just that they haven’t made it over to this side of the pond, yet.

    • schulerbooks / Jan 26 2010 11:46 pm

      So excited to hear that news. I’m assuming that they are going to be Swedish??? Oh dear that means subtitles.

Leave a Reply

