Skip to content
January 29, 2010 / schulerbooks

Joe Hill’s HORNS gets me my first published Indiebound review!

I couldn’t resist posting this – As Michigan’s largest independent bookseller, Schuler is a member of Indiebound, an organization connecting independent bookstores and helping to promote local commerce across the nation. Each month they publish the Indie Next list, a collection of reviews written by booksellers from indie stores all over.

Carol Schneck, the inventory manager at our Okemos location (and possibly the most voracious reader I’ve ever met – to which she’d say, “Hey, I don’t have TV”), is the national Indiebound all-star, with a review published nearly every month! Up til now, I’ve submitted for years (though not nearly as often as she), and the only review I got published was one that I submitted for a co-worker that they mistakenly attributed to me.

In March, that will all change, with my first published review declaring my love for Joe Hill‘s upcoming horror novel Horns!  Woo hoo!

I really can’t tell you how amazing I thought this book was – I thoroughly enjoyed his first novel Heart-Shaped Box and hand-sold it like crazy. Horns is 10 times better. It really is just superbly crafted, with every nuance considered and carefully planned out.

Annnnd, lucky you, they pushed the release date up to February 16, so now you don’t even have to wait til March to read it! If you read it and love it and live in the Lansing area, the Fanged Fiction book group will be discussing it on April 26. Trust me – if you read it, you’re going to want to talk about it

And, a little research suggests that Horns is in production for a feature film. It’s been optioned by Mandalay Pictures and is listed as a 2011 project on IMDB.com. Cross your fingers!

So here’s the brief review I’m acting like such a dork over:

Horns: A Novel by Joe Hill
(Morrow, $25.99, 9780061147951)
“When Ignatius Perrish wakes up with horns and discovers that everyone he meets will tell him their darkest desires, he finally begins to piece together the events behind the brutal murder of his girlfriend. But when everyone in town thinks you are the murderer, it’s quite possible you don’t want to hear what they’re really thinking. Joe Hill’s new novel is a brilliant mix of horror and mystery.” –Whitney Spotts, Schuler Books & Music, Lansing, MI

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. K. Tourtois / Jan 29 2010 8:17 pm

    Congrats again Whitney. It’s always a proud day to get into Indiebound. And, if it makes you feel better, I have saved all mine…because I’m just as much of a gushing nerd about it.

Leave a Reply

