Skip to content
February 2, 2010 / schulerbooks

The Year of One Hundred Books – February Update

January/February Goalwar Update – I’m still alive and kicking people.

For those who don’t know (or those who need reminding) I am still waging the war on the neverending book pile which continues to plague me. The original goal was to read 100 (count ‘em, 100) books this year. My list of titles I am working from, which is narrowed down from a stymieing many thousand titled list, can be found here on goodreads.

In doing this I feel I am setting up a challenge for myself to get through a giant portion of titles that I always tell customers “Some day! Really, it’s on my list!” This time I am actually accomplishing just that. Realistically, I probably read an average of this many books a year anyways… I’m just keeping better track of it this time.
So far, of the  initial goalwar I have managed to read the following books:

1. Once Dead Twice Shy – Kim Harrison

2. Dead Witch Walking – Kim Harrison

3. The Good, the Bad, and the Undead – Kim Harrison

4. Every which way but Dead – Kim Harrison

5. A Fistful of Charms – Kim Harrison

6. For a Few Demons More – Kim Harrison (100 pages away from completion)

7. My Soul to Take – Rachel Vincent

8. My Soul to Save – Rachel Vincent

9. Newsgirl – Liza Ketchum

10. The Dead-Tossed Waves – Carrie Ryan (Releases 03/09/2010)

11. Raised by Wolves – Jennifer Lynn Barnes (Releases 06/08/2010)

2 of them I did not care heaps for, or it’s the wrong time for me to read them, so I did not get very far. They will be returned to the pile to be enjoyed at a later date. I outright did not enjoy one of them and don’t envision myself picking back up, but I’ll leave you to puzzle over which one.

Scary thing is, this amounts to over 3000 pages… that many pages in a month. Like I said before, it’s about 100 pages a day per average. Now, this gets skewed when I get a book like “Dead tossed waves”, which I devoured overnight… or any of the Harrison books, which are harder to race through, but are a tremendous good burn.

So far I feel good. I haven’t sacrificed anything to keep up with the goal. I still manage to spend lots of time with loved ones and accomplish other things. I’m finding that I am less likely to bend to distractions with this goal in mind… though I’m sure March will be a light reading month… Curse you Final Fantasy 13… And the pixilated chocobo you rode in on too! <Reference Joke>

And now, off to read more Kim Harrison. *Sigh* Reading about spunky witch bounty hunters taking out supernatural baddies in Ohio… it’s a dirty job, but someone has to do it.

I love this part of my job. Alot.

-Krys Tourtois, Schuler Books and Music Eastwood

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lisa Damian / Feb 8 2010 2:21 pm

    I notice your list is packed with Kim Harrison. I’m offering her latest book, Black Magic Sanction, as a freebie giveaway on my blog this week. Feel free to stop by…
    http://DamianDaily.wordpress.com

Trackbacks

  1. The Year of One Hundred Books – Second Goalwar « Schuler Books Weblog

Leave a comment