Skip to content
February 18, 2010 / schulerbooks

A Bookworm’s Musings: One Good Dog & The Christmas Cookie Club (yes I know it’s February)

Wow, Valentine’s Day is over. Wish I could review something mushy and romantic, but I haven’t read anything that would qualify in a very long time. I did just finish a book that is due out next month. It’s called One Good Dog by Susan Wilson. I’ve never read anything by her before, but apparently she did a modern retelling of Beauty and the Beast, titled Beauty, that was made into a TV movie.

The upcoming book is an easy read once you get past the main character’s arrogant, self-involved pathos. Adam March is not a likable guy at first. I’m pretty sure this is where the joys of dog ownership turn you into a responsible, caring human.  Even the dog isn’t likable at first – a brindled pitbull without a name.

The book managed to keep my interest by telling the story quite well  from the dog’s point of view. I have a pure-bred Border Collie that is absolutely obsessed with balls. (Any balls. Doesn’t matter size or shape — she thinks tomatoes and eggplants qualify.) So, I could identify with the voice of the dog very much. Perhaps that is what is going on inside my idiot dog’s pea-brained skull. While I know there are actual humans out there like Adam March, I don’t know any personally. (Thankfully.) So the story eventually converges with the two, dog and human, coming together living under the same roof. I actually got kinda sniffly.

I also just finished, The Christmas Cookie Club by Ann Pearlman. (Yes, I know. I am a little late for holiday reading.) Enjoyable read. Michigan author. Set in Ann Arbor, so I could really relate to the places they were talking about.

The  premise is 12 women get together every year on the first Monday in December to do a cookie exchange. They each make 13 dozen cookies, the extra dozen going to a charity or hospice already agreed upon. Along with the cookieshich must be packaged nicely and include the recipe, they must present the story behind the cookie.The recipes for the cookies are included in the book.  Nice if you like nuts, since all but two included them. I do not.

Regardless, it’s a quick fun read. My only objection is that Pearlman sometimes seems to lose her grip on the language. Hmmm, how to get this across? It’s like someone told her that the stories were too goody goody and she needed to spice it up with some foul language. Perhaps it was just me, but it just didn’t seem to fit with the overall tone of the book, or be necessary.

Enough for now. Waiting anxiously for the the new Lee Child!

–Bookworm

Leave a Reply

