Skip to content
February 23, 2010 / schulerbooks

The Year of One Hundred Books – Second Goalwar

 
 
Well, it’s the end of February and as promised before I am updating those (who care) about my reading progress thus far this year. As iterated in my previous postings I am tackling the goal of completing 100 books this year. Thus far I have read 18 and I’m feeling pretty good. That’s my entire first goal war plus the ARC of Perchance to Dream (which I was fortunate enough to get from the publisher).
 
I’m impressed I can claim that much, but this is my New Year’s resolution, and how many of you can honestly say that you are sticking to yours? How many people even make New Year’s resolutions anyways?
 
Anywho, I can’t always be expected to keep on task because certainly things come up… most notably this in two weeks, which will no doubt ruin my progress of reading, socializing, and generally doing anything with life that involves setting foot outside of my flat. However, I said I didn’t want this project to be homework and I am roundly sticking to that. I’m thrilled that I still have the steam despite numerous difficulties in finding the time (and inclination) to stick to the goal. The fact that my live-in love has taken a personal interest in this is rather comforting, though his participtation in my reading goal is to distract me from making it. As he has shamelessly admitted… And demonstrated, repeatedly.
 
…but we press on…because we LOVE books, with a big ole bottomless sea, neverending passionate, 5000 gallon tank worth of love….no matter how dysfunctional the relationship can be at times, or how little some books love us back.
 
Kim Harrison was a big chunk of what I read so far this year (and she comes to Eastwood this Saturday!!!) She was lots of fun, in fact so much so that I feel a touch of withdrawal from the world she created. It’s not just any author who can world build so well that you can easily plunk yourself into conversations with her characters, and feel loss when you can no longer banter with them. Plus, watching the main protagonist, Rachel Morgan, grow from wisecracking sassy earth witch to demonslaying baddie is just too much fun to deny yourself. She went from being a flat archtype to a flesh and blood heroine in under the first chapter, and there are many more chapters after that to enjoy her spunk. I blew through 8 books in 7 weeks. I feel spent. And that’s just for starters.

 

….If you can’t tell I wait impatiently for the release of her 9th book, which is probably more than a year away. Just saying….

 

I have though discovered, or rather rekindled, my adoration and love for Maggie Stiefvater, whose books simply blow my mind. How has this author not made it into everyone’s hands yet? Those of you who will pick her up in the future I envy you the experience of reading her for the first time. She’s utterly gorgeous.

 

…And Carrie Ryan is coming to the store soon… Squee!!! Zombie apocalypse!!!!

 

Ok, gushings aside, I read a lot. I read 7300+ pages in the last 60 days. *Heavy Sigh*…. And here is the second goalwar o’mine.

 

Second Goalwar – To be read between March 1st (now) and April 30th

1. The Thief – Megan Whalen Turner (280 pages)

2. The Queen of Attolia – Megan Whalen Turner (362 pages)

3. The King of Attolia – Megan Whalen Turner (387 pages)

4. A Conspiracy of Kings – Megan Whalen Turner (400 pages)

5. Radiant Shadows – Melissa Marr (352 pages)

6. Celestial Globe – Marie Rutkoski (304 pages)

7. Eleventh Grade Burns – Heather Brewer (208 pages)

8. Birth marked – Caragh M. O’Brien (320 pages)

9. Betrayals – Lili St. Crow (304 pages)

10. Heist Society – Ally Carter (304 pages)

11. Falling In – Frances O’Roark Dowell (272 pages)

12. Pretty Dead – Francesca Lia Block (208 pages)

13. Bitter Night – Diana Pharoah Francis (400 pages)

14. The Better Part of Darkness – Kelly Gay (384 pages)

15. Dead Town – Nancy Holzner (336 pages)

16. Blood Ninja – Nick Lake (288 pages)

17. The Tear Collector – Patrick Jones (272 pages)

18. Blue Bloods – Melissa de la Cruz (302 pages)

19. Masquerade – Melissa de la Cruz (320 pages)

20. Revelations – Melissa de la Cruz (256 pages)

21. The Van Alan Legacy – Melissa de la Cruz (369 pages)

22. Three Days to Dead – Kelly Meding (405 Pages)

 

Total pages – 7028

(If I did my math correctly. J )

 …that’s an awful lot of vampire fiction in there… curse you young adult trends!!!

 

 

I’m very excited that Megan Whalen Turner has a new book out. Very. Excited. In fact I have waited 3 years for this book. “The Thief” is one of the best books I have read in 5 years, and it’s a continual favourite of mine to handsell. The MWT books are actually rereads save the new one. Everything else either falls into the category of “I can’t believe I haven’t gotten to this yet” or they are advanced copies I have sitting around that finally hit the top of the pile.

 

It’s February 23, 2010. And I’m off. Gotta get as many books in before Sony steals my sleep and life.

P.S. I like links. :) 

-Krys Tourtois, Schuler Books and Music, Eastwood.

 

 

 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jessica / Feb 24 2010 2:18 pm

    You can do it. I spent a good 8 months reading a book almost every day. You are right, it’s difficult having any sort of social life that doesn’t include the characters of your books. I keep a book journal. It comes in super handy when reading that sort of volume. After awhile you start to forget the details of a series and when you come back to it you get a bit confused, especially if you read multiple authors in the same genre.

    Good luck and have fun.

  2. 5minutespeace / Feb 25 2010 2:43 pm

    That’s a lot of pages to get through. I wish you luck and will be checking back on your progress. Can I personally recommend Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz? I’ve reviewed it for the Waterstone’s Books Quarterly magazine and you can also find it on my blog http://5minutespeace.wordpress.com

    It’s a great new twist on the vast vampire fiction out there. Judging by the other books in your ‘to read’ list I think it will be to your liking.

Trackbacks

  1. 100 books – second goalwar update « Schuler Books Weblog

Leave a Reply

