Skip to content
April 29, 2010 / schulerbooks

Holy busy Batman! How ’bout some book recommendations?

I’ve been abuzz in the Schulerverse getting ready for a May full of events and the rapidly approaching publisher convention Book Expo America, which I’ll be attending in NYC at the end of May with a few other Schulerites!  While I can barely contain my excitement, I can also barely catch up, so in the meantime, please dig on a couple of book recommendations in lieu of any official book news:

The Bedwetter: Stories of Courage, Redemption, and Pee
by Sarah Silverman (Harper)

It is signed, stamped and decreed official. I am in love
with Sarah Silverman.

Oh, I had a huge crush on her before from watching ‘Sarah Silverman: Jesus is Magic’, her Comedy Central show, and her intense addition to the documentary ‘The Aristocrats’ (you want to laugh ‘til you cry and be left feeling slightly dirty, that’s your film!).  But reading her new book has pushed me over the edge into total fangirldom.

Let me warn that Silverman can be shockingly crude and controversial, but that’s why I love her. There’s something about a beautiful woman saying things that would come out of a trucker’s mouth that makes me happy.  But if you pass the questionnaire on the inside flap of the book that the publisher devised to weed out those who would be traumatized by Big S’s candor, I dare you to give this a read and try not to fall in love with her too

You’re a Horrible Person, But I Like You: The Believer Book of Advice by The Believer (Vintage Books)

Aside from having a fabulous title, the premise for this might be one of my favorite ever: a book-length advice column given by people who have no business dispensing advice. Add in that it’s put out by ‘The Believer,’ a McSweeney’s magazine that still believes in art and literature for its own sake (rather than as just a means to sales), and I’m so in.

If you’re a fan of comedy, all I really have to do is rattle off some of the names of the slew of advice-givers to suck you in as well. How about a short list that includes Judd Apatow, Samantha Bee, Jim Gaffigan, Janeane Garafalo, Bob Odenkirk, Patton Oswalt and Amy Sedaris?  That’s a small fraction of the comedians and humorists featured this incredible compendium.

And when you live your life according to tenets taught by jokesters, you’re bound to have good stories to tell in the end.

–Whitney

Leave a Reply

