Skip to content
October 28, 2010 / schulerbooks

Sooooo excited for Zombie Night 2 – TONIGHT!

I can’t even tell you how excited I am for the 2nd Annual Zombie Night, tonight at Schuler of Lansing from 7 to close! I’ve been planning it since last year’s party ended, and we’re finally here!

To prep you, here’s a fantastic, completely un-literary and unrelated, Zombie Kid video, and an article that ran in the Lansing Noise!

 

Invasion of the zombie pin-ups

The living dead arise at annual Zombie Night

Anne Erickson • NOISE • October 28, 2010

 

Ready to get in the Halloween spirit? Indulge your zombie obsession as Schuler Books & Music in the Eastwood Towne Center presents the Second Annual Zombie Night Thursday, Oct. 28.

Lest you think we’re trying to trick you into smearing blood all over yourself and heading out to Eastwood, consider that the event will entail a fresh collection of zombie pin-up photos by Lansing-based photographer Jena McShane, featuring local models. The photos are part of the “Beauty and Brains 2011” calendar, which will be available to order at the party for $17 each.

McShane got into pin-up photography during her first year in Lansing Community College’s photography school.

“I always loved old pin-ups,” she said. “I had this visual literacy class where I could shoot whatever I wanted, so I chose pin-ups for my subject and decided to do the history of the pin-up, and it got a great response.”

Pin-up portraits, McShane said, are the epitome of “sexy but not raunchy.”

“I love the cuteness of it,” she said. “Pin-ups are old-school. I love vintage style anything.”

As for how the zombie idea came into play, McShane said she’s not quite sure.

“I have no idea!” she said. “I enjoy having projects for myself even if I’m not school, so I wanted to do a pin-up thing and put a spin on it. Since I like zombie movies and zombies are a big deal right now, I thought I would mesh them together.

“I told some people about the idea, and they flipped out.”

So one day last year, she shot 15 girls in one day in her basement. She sold the calendars at Schuler’s first zombie party, and from there, the response was great.

This year’s calendar was captured in a completely different way. Each girl was photographed on location, from a local farm to the Thomas Cooley Gardens to Hiawatha Elementary School. The cover was shot at this year’s Muskegon Zombie Walk. Each month has a theme, “March has an Irish theme. April has April showers. August is ‘back-to-school,'” said McShane.

Lansing-based makeup artist Sierra VanDenHeuvel did makeup for most of the models, which include the Lansing State Journal’s own Anne Erickson and Kathleen Takacs. Schuler Books & Music promotion coordinator Whitney Spotts organized the zombie party and also appears in the calendar.

McShane said she’s most excited for people to see how different this year’s pictures are from last year’s. “We put a lot of thought and time into it, and I’m looking forward to everyone seeing the final project.”

Those attending the zombie party may enter a drawing for a free calendar. As for other fun, there are two zombie costume contests (one specifically for babies), a zombie dance party with music from DJ Sammy, a zombie gaming corner, a zombie film screening and zombie photographer Monica Dyke shooting the whole event. Enough brains for ya?

Of course, to attend in correct zombie-like fashion, remember: simply grunt, hiss and stumble your way into zombie bliss.

Leave a Reply

