Skip to content
June 9, 2011 / schulerbooks

Book Trailers are the New Black!

I am loving the new(ish) trend of publishers creating book trailers (little movie previews) for their new releases. I’ve posted them on the blog before, but they are really getting slick, and provide a great way for me to share new faves with you when I have zero time to write my own thoughts. 🙂

I was very tickled to discover these wicked trailers for a couple of books I’ve been pumped about – Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (currently on Entertainment Weekly’s “Must List,” as well as creating a fierce bidding war for the film adaptation. I loved it, loved it, loved it (it’s this month’s pick for Fanged Fiction (the Lansing store’s horror reading group)). It’s the sort of book, though, where I hate trying to give a plot summary because I don’t want to give away any of its magic. This video should suffice. 🙂

Next up is another new release that is currently holding court on my desk (with 20 other books in Mount-Not-Read) is The Meowmorphosis by Frank Kafka and Coleridge Cook, the most recent in Quirk Books’ line of revisionist lit. (They’re the ones who brought you Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Ebook) as well as Android Karenina (Ebook).) I have no qualms about ruining the plot of this one, The Metamorphosis (Ebook) being a bit of a classic and all, but I seeing as I haven’t read it yet, the trailer will once again suffice.

–Whitney

Leave a Reply

