Skip to content
August 25, 2011 / schulerbooks

Pat Benatar is a Goddess.

Ok, probably not the subject that you would normally expect from the Schuler blog, but yesterday I had the treat of attending an event rather than organizing it, and to make it even more special, I got to meet my idol, Pat Benatar. (I’m not joking here. I’ve actually performed in a Pat Benatar cover band, and although a pixie cut wig is hard to fit over dreadlocks, it was the most fun I’ve ever had.)

She was in Grand Rapids for a show at Meijer Garden, and did a quickie signing of her memoir, Between a Heart and a Rock Place. I don’t get starstruck very often, but in this case, I was a total spazz, and she was beyond sweet and charming. I’m really looking forward to reading about her journey from studying opera, to singing the soundtrack of my youth. Here’s a pic from the signing, and one from the show for good measure. They’re not great photos, cuz like I said, I was freaking out, and I had trouble holding still to take the shots. You can still see how amazing she looks though (and she sounds even better)! So. Much. Fun.

 

Leave a Reply

