Skip to content
October 18, 2011 / schulerbooks

Get Halloween Ready with Schuler!

Halloween Prep Time at Schuler Books, and our Lansing store has go you covered for events to get you in the spirit, featuring all the ghosts, witches and zombies you could want for!

We’re kicking things off this Saturday (October 22) with a special Advance Launch Pizza Party for Michigan author Ari Berk, who is celebrating the release of Death Watch, book one in The Undertaken Trilogy!

This fantastic Gothic-infused young adult novel is getting rave reviews, and is perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book. Holly Black blurbed Death Watch, saying “Ari Berk writes deftly about loss and love, mining a rich vein of ghostly folklore with vivid prose, style and wit.  A marvelous tapestry of a book.”

The book doesn’t officially release until November 15, but we got special permission from Simon & Schuster to do a Halloween-ish event with Ari, so he’ll be at the Lansing store this Saturday at 3 p.m. for our party. The author is a prof at CMU and an expert in folklore, so along with a reading from Death Watch, he’ll be giving a wicked Q&A session on ghosts, goblins and all things that go bump in the night! Did I mention we’ll be plying you with pizza and Halloween candy?

You can read the first chapter of Death Watch as a preview here!

Next up, we have the return of NYT-bestselling Urban Fantasy author Kim Harrison, hitting the Lansing store at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, October 25!

We’ve had a fantastic time with Kim on her previous visits to the store (now that she’s living in Michigan again, we are getting Spoiled!), and we are so pumped to host the launch date event for her newest book The Hollows Insider! Fans of the series, starring the bounty hunter witch Rachel Morgan, are going to flip over this book. It’s a beautiful package and a fun companion to the series.

Free tickets are available now at our Lansing store. Tickets 1-100 guarantee a seat, while those over 100 are standing room. The signing will proceed after the signing in ticket number order. You can reserve your tickets over the phone by calling the store at 51.7.316.7495.

Finally, we are celebrating our 3rd Annual Zombie Night starting at 7 p.m. on Thursday, October 27!

Our theme this year is “Because Zombies Need Love Too,” and we’ve got a great range of fun set up. For the first time we have authors visiting: children’s book author Kelly Dipucchio will give a story-time of her adorable picture book Zombie In Love, while bestselling author Elizabeth Kostova (The Historian), Michigan Notable author Keith Taylor and Elizabeth Schmuhl will read ghost stories from the new anthology Ghost Writers, a collection of eerie stories by Michigan authors!

 

Other Zombie-tastic stuff going on includes our Feed the Hunger food drive (bring at least 1 canned or boxed food item and receive a Zombie goodie bag); Zombie Twister and Zombie table-top bowling; and a new round of Zombie Pin-up Photos by photographer Jena McShane (Lansing City Pulse’s “Top of the Town” Photographer 2011), featuring local models in a bizarre mix of horror and beauty.

Finally, of course, we’ll have costume contests for both adults and kids! First prizes are these awesomely maniacal mechanical zombie babies I found at Halloween Spirit.

The next week is going to be so much fun! See you there!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: