Skip to content
March 7, 2012 / schulerbooks

Young Adult: Are You Really Ever Too Old?

As some of you may know, I help run the Young Adult section at our 28th St. location in Grand Rapids. For as long as I can remember, I’ve always loved young adult literature. Sure, I read my share of picture books and Magic Tree House books, but even at that younger age I was reading YA titles.

Now, while I’m fresh out of my teens and am still able to relate to the situations presented in YA books, I know many of our customers who are buying YA books are adults. (And, while we’re at it, adults are the ones writing these books.) I think these customers enjoy being able to relive their teens through reading. They get to fall in love for the first time again. They can root for the underdog who reminds them of themselves. They can feel like a dreamer again and see the world through younger, more innocent eyes. A lot of people say your teens are some of the most memorable years of your life, so it seems only natural that those who are older would continue to gravitate towards these books.

One of my favorite parts about working in the YA section is chatting with these “older” readers. They’re more passionate about the books they’re reading than the teens these books are geared towards! But I’ve noticed a lot of these adults are embarrassed about buying and reading books written for a younger audience. Personally, a good book is a good book, and you’re never too old to enjoy one.

So, lovely Schulerites, what are some of your favorite young adult titles? Are you an adult who reads YA literature? If so, why does it speak to you so much? ~DJ, 28th St.

Tell us what you think and we’ll enter you in a drawing to win a signed copies of young adult author Leah Clifford’s  A Touch Mortal, recently released in paperback, and her new follow-up A Touch Morbid!

We’re hosting the official launch party for A Touch Morbid with a fancy-dress InsaniTea Party at our Lansing store this Saturday at 1 p.m. Click through here for details!

 

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. anparker2008 / Mar 7 2012 10:37 pm

    I’m definitely ones of the adults who love YA titles, one of my favorite authors/series is Rachel Vincent’s Soul Screamers series. There are sooo many out there that I read on a regular basis though and she’s just the one I’ve read most recently.

    • DJ / Mar 8 2012 5:11 pm

      The Soul Screamers series is not only well-written, but so addictive! Have you read Julie Kagawa’s The Iron Fey series? I think you’d like those. 🙂

  2. Tina Wooden / Mar 8 2012 2:03 am

    I love reading YA fiction because I believe I’m still young at heart, and really, although life gets more complicated and cluttered the older you get, the fundamental issues don’t change: Who’s going to be your friend, and who will stab you in the back? What is the right choice to make in any given situation? If I have to sacrifice something precious to me in order to make that choice, would I have the courage to do it? YA books often use a backdrop to which we can all relate (such as school) in order to present these issues in simpler, less cluttered terms. A good book doesn’t necessarily build character, but it can reveal your own character to yourself.

    I also prefer reading YA books because there’s not so much garbage — swearing, gratuitous sex scenes, etc. — as in “adult” literature. Somewhere along the way, publishers started pandering to the lowest common denominator, and I’ve come across several books which would have been excellent were it not for the gratuitous sex scenes — which I would bet any amount of money were added in AFTER the author had finished writing!

    The best argument for reading YA fiction, though, is a quote from my favorite author (who wrote for children and grown-ups alike), C.S. “Jack” Lewis:

    “I wrote this story for you, but when I began it I had not realized that girls grow quicker than books. As a result you are already too old for fairy tales, and by the time it is printed and bound you will be older still. But some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again.”

    As he said in another book, “It is the stupidest children who are the most childish and the stupidest grown-ups who are the most grown-up.” I hope I shall never become so stupid as to not be able to enjoy a good story just because it was written for someone younger than I.

    • schulerbooks / Mar 8 2012 11:00 pm

      Great response Tina! 🙂 – Whitney

  3. staceykatheryn / Mar 8 2012 2:33 am

    I LOVE YA books. Some of my favorite books are in this age category, and I’m 27! You’re never too old for a good novel, YA or not.

  4. galena / Mar 9 2012 11:13 am

    I love the YA books that are more fantasy/supernatural-themed. The Hunger Games trilogy is some of the best fiction I’ve read in any genre/category. I’ve just started reading Angelfall by Susan Ee and it seems really promising so far., and Cinder by Marissa Meyer was a fun twist on the Cinderella fairy tale (I can’t wait for the sequel!). I’ve even gotten my husband to read a few YA books 🙂

Leave a Reply

